McMinnville Sunrise Rotary Foundation Minutes

Semi Annual Joint Meeting with McMinnville Sunrise Rotary Club May 25, 2022

Attending via Zoom & In-Person
Georgia Conrad, Foundation President, Club Immediate Past President
Ken Moore, Club President Elect, Foundation Board Member
Denise Murphy, Foundation Secretary
Joseph Stewart
Janet Sasaki, Club President
Susan Escure
Mary Alice Russell
Mary Meeko, Club President Nominee
Jon Johnson, Club Treasurer
Tom Vail
Dotty Holt, Foundation Board Member
Lou Perez Leon, Guest/McMinnville Noon Club Member

Absent: Brad Lunt, Foundation Treasurer

Denise Murphy, as Chairman of the Small Grants Committee, explained the outcome of the 2022 small grant awards. Committee members Dotty Holt, Connie Keyes, LaVerne Pitts, MaryAliceRussell and Denise Murphy met in April as the Small Grants Committee. Lake Oswego had submitted a grant request in August 2021 for an international project but subsequently informed us they no longer needed funding. No other applicant submitted an international project for consideration. The remaining five grant submissions were reviewed with the following awards made: The Shadow Project-\$750; McMinnville Montessori School-\$750; The Soup Kitchen of St. Barnabas-\$1750; Twilight Wish Foundation - 0; Unidos Bridging Community-\$1750. No award was made to the Twilight Wish Foundation because this Pennsylvania based organization has no current presence in the State of Oregon The recommendations of the small grant committee were forwarded to the Foundation Board on April 20, 2022, and they subsequently approved the committee's recommendation.

The recent activities of the Scholarship Committee, comprised of MaryAlice Russell, Dotty Holt, Ken Moore, Mary Meeko, Brad Lunt and Susan Escure, were summarized by committee Chairman Denise Murphy. The committee met in May to consider 14 applications for the 2022-2023 Chemeketa Scholarships. Twelve of the applications were new applicants and two of them had previously been awarded scholarships. The committee followed the scoring guidelines provided by the college and submitted scores for all applicants in addition to ranking the top six candidates. In March, the Foundation Board of Directors, agreed to adopt a formula for calculating the annual amount to be given to Chemeketa Community College for 3 scholarship awards for 3 terms. The formula is based on the current cost of tuition and fees and is calculated at 3/4 of that amount. It is intended that if that amount falls short of the 5% targeted spending of the endowment fund, the difference will be made up through fundraising. For the 2022-2023 school year, the amount is \$10,530.

An election was held to fill the 3 year term on the Foundation Board of Directors, currently held by Dotty Holt. The only nominee was Dotty Holt and she was unanimously elected to a second 3 year term, commencing July 1, 2022.

Minutes submitted by Denise Murphy